Emma’s life

A lot of people ask me what’s involved in caring for Emma now that she is an insulin-dependent diabetic.  So, I thought I would put it together for you.

Consistency is the key.

She gets her glucose level checked twice a day, gets insulin twice a day, and eats twice a day.  At approximately the same time.  Every day.  There is a window, but it’s not very big, so I have become much more schedule-conscious.  I was always regular, but that has improved twenty-fold!

So, twice a day I get out the suppliesAs soon as I open the “hospital drawer” where everything is kept, she makes her way over to me.  I sit on the floor and she gets herself ready.

She is THE BEST PATIENT EVER!!!

Then I flip back her ear to locate a good “spot” to prick for blood

Then the part I hate, I have to prick her. Every day. Twice a day.  I hate it…she doesn’t seem to mind so much!

I collect the blood and get a number.

There is an ideal range – I keep her a little higher than normal so I don’t risk her bottoming out (that could cause seizures and, well, death, and we DEFINITELY don’t want that!!).

Then she gets to eat!

That’s her FAVORITE part!!  I give her the appropriate amount of insulin based on the number, and record it all in a log.

Then it’s off to relaxing when the whole process is over.

Then repeat.  Every 12 hours.

I think she secretly loves this because she gets a TON of attention that the boys don’t.

She’s worth it of course…my little brown dog!

This entry was posted in Dogs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Emma’s life

  1. Angie says:

    You’re such a good mommy!

Leave a Reply

