I had the wrong day

Happy Wednesday!  I hope everyone got a chance to take a look at Terri’s guest post from Monday.  She is such an inspiration to me.  (AND it’s her birthday today!!!  Happy Birthday!!)

I made a sign for her on the day of the marathon with one minor problem (ok, I use minor very loosely):

Had the wrong day.  Yep, you read that correctly.  Wrong day.  Well, I guess it’s the thought that counts, right?  I hope so, since the wrong day is a PRETTY big deal.  Ooops!

Onto the day today…

Today is my last Wednesday at work.  To catch up for those of you that don’t know, I quit my job.  This week has been pretty bittersweet.  I have agreed to stay on part time for an undetermined amount of time to help during what may end up being a lengthy transition.  But, after Friday, however you look at it, this is my last week at a job that has been my life for 16 years.  I know I don’t look that old 🙂

There is A LOT I will miss, but miss it I will – that’s how you know something was meaningful to you.  If I was running and laughing out of the building I may have wondered why I wasted the past 16 years of my life.  But I’m not, it’s been a great part of my life.

But onward and upward…and I’m VERY excited.

Last night, my friend Jennifer took me to Dogfish Head Alehouse in Gaithersburg.  Great ahi tuna sandwich (no pictures due to the distraction of the accompanying margaritas!!).  We had a great time and although I know we will remain friends, it will be in a different capacity – as will all of the relationships I’ve built.  We laughed and talked about the great chapters we could write about Poolesville!!!

This morning, I celebrated my last Wednesday with some Overnight Oats.  I’ve read about them, but never gave them a try.  My new plan of taking care of myself, starting with breakfast, makes these a must.

Before bed, you can mix everything (I wanted until the morning for the raspberries so they weren’t soggy), put into the fridge and in the morning….you have oatmeal.

In the mix:

1/2 cup oats

1/3 cup almond milk

1/3 cup plain yogurt

chia seeds (for omega III!!)

Delicious.  Be creative.  They are very customizable to anything you want to add.  I am much more likely to take the 2 minutes at night and mix up the ingredients to talk myself out of skipping breakfast in the morning when I could really use 10 more minutes of pillow time.

I like them cold, but you could toss the oat portion in the microwave quickly if you want the warm oatmeal experience.

Back to the golf channel…watching a friend attempt to qualify for the PGA championship!!! Bill is caddying for him…fun!!

Yep, sometimes the duties of the caddy include climbing the tree to look for the ball 🙂

Happy Wednesday!!

This entry was posted in Food, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I had the wrong day

  1. anita watson says:

    When first seeing Bill in the tree, before reading the comment, I thought he saw a snake or something and he jumped up in the tree !!

Leave a Reply

