My New Life

Maybe this will sound a bit over dramatic to those of you that have moved around within different fields of work, but for me, this is a BIG deal.

I’ve been a Biologist for the past 16 years.  I have a bit of a work-a-holic disease, so I’ve poured my heart and soul into my career and I’ve identified myself by it.  I may have pushed it beyond what is normal, but when something is so much a part of your life, it becomes part of who you are.  I will never regret these past 16 years as they have shaped me significantly, I grew up within them and I have met some of my dearest friends during them.

But I’m throwing caution to the wind and jumping into a whole new career!

I quit my job (of course I agreed to stay on part time for a while to help…see, my sickness)!!!  It still doesn’t seem real even as I type it.  I know it will sink in when I’m not regularly getting up at 4am, running in to work in the middle of the night, and being on my feet for 10 hour surgeries or trying to analyze data in a cramped plane seat on my way to a presentation.  I have one more full week next week, then it is off to a new chapter in my life.

Funny thing is, I don’t feel worried.  I’m not sure exactly why, but I feel at complete peace about my decision.  I guess that’s when you know it’s the right decision.  I have caused quite a stir with my decision, and I have huge concerns for my employees I am leaving behind, but I know this is the right path for me.  There comes a time when you are maxed out and need to spread your wings.  I have ensured my employees (I’m like mom to them even though I’m not older than all of them) that I will always be available to them – I have made such great connections and that is what I will miss the most.

Wish me luck.  Hopefully this won’t be me next Friday as I’m driving away…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My New Life

  1. Pingback: keeping a balance

Leave a Reply

