Crazy Legs

I hope everyone is enjoying the weekend!  It has been absolutely beautiful here in the DC area.  I think the dogs want to live outside!!

Levi has been obsessed with the baby bird he can see (and smell…hopefully not taste…he has a bad reputation for this!!) through a crack in the deck.  Luckily for the birds, they found their flying wings and headed out today.  Levi still visits, looking in, JUST IN CASE THEY COME BACK FOR A VISIT!!)

On another subject, most of you probably know I’m a regular blood donor.  I think if you can give, it’s worth the time for such a gift.  No money in the world can buy you blood if someone doesn’t take the time to donate it!  Recently, I took the plunge to platelets.   You can give platelets more often (technically, every 7 days, but the American Red Cross recommends a two week wait) than whole blood (only once every 8 weeks).  Platelets are used for cancer patients, among other things.  It’s a much longer process (2 1/2 hours instead of 30 minutes), but I know I would appreciate someone’s time if someone I loved needed them.

So, Friday was the day.  You pick out a movie (I chose ‘Someone Like You’ – sappy chick flick), they get you all cozy and warm in blankets and the process begins….

Two and a half hours later…

I’ve never had trouble with feeling whoozy after, but my legs are J.E.L.L.O.  You are resting comfortably in reclining chairs, but since my feet are up a bit (and I don’t have the best leg circulation to begin with), walking after is a bit weird.  Ok, a lot weird.

I feel like I have crazy legs!  Anyway, it’s worth it – what’s a little crazy leg?  Anyone who can give, I urge you to give it a shot.  Stop by your local Red Cross and see if you’re eligible.  Even if you don’t want to spend a huge amount of time, what’s 30 minutes?  I’m sure we all waste more than that every day doing nothing.

Have you ever donated?

Happy Giving!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crazy Legs

  1. Kandi says:

    I used to give blood as regularly as I was allowed (aside from the 8 week wait, I sometimes had low iron and was ineligible). I don’t give as often these days but try to whenever I feel that I can. I get nervous giving blood too close to a big race. I also have rolling veins so it’s not always the most pleasant experience. I’ve also had other issues with donating. I’ve never donated platelets though. I have nearly passed out on several occasions while giving blood or soon after though.
    But I agree that it is a gift worth giving if you are able.

Leave a Reply

