1 year Pesce-versary and a weekend recap

Today  is my 1 year Pesce-versary!!  One year ago, I decided meat no longer had a place in my life.  It wasn’t until recently that I actually realized what I was…a pescetarian.  I had never heard of it before, so I just thought I was a vegetarian that also ate fish.

Pescetarianism

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Pescetarianism is the practice of a diet that includes seafood, and excludes other animals. In addition to fish and/or shellfish, a pescetarian diet typically includes all of vegetables, fruit, nuts, grains, beans, eggs and dairy. The Merriam-Webster dictionary dates the origin of the term “pescetarian” to 1993 and defines it to mean: “one whose diet includes fish but no meat“.[1]

Turns out there’s a word for that!!  I know this isn’t something that would work for everyone, but for me, and my health, it’s been the best decision I’ve made.

I wasn’t sure if I would crave a burger or a steak or…anything for that matter, so I told myself that if I had a craving I would just leave it open and allow myself to have a bite of someone else’s.  It just hasn’t happened yet, and maybe that’s because I never told myself never.  I’m not saying there won’t be a time when I might want to taste something, there might even be a time when I decide to incorporate limited meat back into my diet, but for now, this is really working for me.

Onto the weekend…

Friday I tackled a hilly 6 mile run.  I’m onto my taper week from here (next Saturday is the race!!!).

Icing my ankles and stretching after a run have been my lifesavers!

I have really tight hamstrings so lying on the ground with my legs up a wall works wonders to push me beyond my comfort zone.  I also recruit a band to help stretch a bit farther…it hurts sooo good!!

The only drawback to lying on the ground in my house…the up close and personal visitors you get, whether you want them or not!!

I don’t even have the strength to get away…and I have a sneaking suspicion they know that!!

I wanted something great for dinner, but healthy (I couldn’t see getting in a great run and not following it with something healthy).  We decided on a place in Germantown called sabai sabai  simply Thai … SUCCESS!

We tried some AMAZING Veggie Curry Puffs with diced potatoes, carrots, sweet peas, onions, seasoned with curry and Thai spices in crisp pastry pockets…YUM!!  We also had a combination of other veggie and tofu yumminess.  We will definitely be going back!

Saturday, we helped a friend with a golf clinic.  Jim Estes (he needs a new picture here!!) is a golf pro that works with wounded war veterans to help them learn how to golf again (or some for the first time) while adjusting to life with a prosthesis.  It is SUCH an  amazing organization (stay tuned for a separate post on that over the next couple of weeks)!!

Sorry for the long post, just wanted to catch up on a few things. I hope everyone is having a great rest of the weekend!!!

This entry was posted in Dogs, Food, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1 year Pesce-versary and a weekend recap

  1. Kandi says:

    When I lay on the floor I have a similar problem. hehe. Basset Hound nose to the face!
    That Thai place is pretty good, I’ve been there before.
    Good luck on the half marathon!

  2. Pingback: You Have to Love Jamie Oliver | keeping a balance

Leave a Reply

