Two Weeks and Counting…

There are 2 weeks until my first Half Marathon…and I’m REALLY nervous.  I’m participating in the Frederick Running Festival.  My two goals are 1) finish and 2) not be the VERY last person to cross the finish line.

Lat Sunday was my 1st 10 mile run.  When I started out on my run, I felt so free.  I kept thinking, ‘how great is this…fresh air, I can sing outloud with no one looking…and friends along the way.’

Remember, I live in Poolesville…so this is what I see 🙂

But as the miles added up, and hills seemed SO much higher than when I drive those roads, my thoughts switched to, ‘what was I thinking? No one is making me do this, am I crazy?’

But I made it home (barely, but without being kidnapped, mom) and felt really great.  Sometimes getting through the runs is tough, but I never regret doing it once I finish.

My butt…it wasn’t happy with me for 3 days.  I swear I felt every muscle fiber cry a little bit with every step I took.

The remainder of my training:

10 miles this weekend

Next week – 27 total miles – 5 miles, 6 miles, 6 miles and 10 miles

Final taper week leading up to the race…2 miles, 2 miles, 2 miles…oh, how I’m looking forward to the taper week!

Hoping everyone has a great Spring Day!!

This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Two Weeks and Counting…

  1. nancy handy says:

    Glad you’re back! I enjoy reading this. thanks

  2. John Archer says:

    Here’s what it’s like to run a marathon: “My Marathon” Hope you like it. http://johnarcher11.wordpress.com/2011/04/23/my-marathon/
    . . ./John

Leave a Reply

