Keeping a Balance…Without a Scale

Too often we hold ourselves to unrealistic expectations and worry about how we measure up to others.  We beat ourselves up over a pound gained or a chocolate cake eaten.  What we tend to miss when we are trapped by all of this is the truly beautiful person that we already are.

Picture this for a moment.  You make a decision to put your health at the top of your priority list.  You’ve made delicious whole foods all month, gotten several runs in a week and joined a Yoga class for the first time.  By the end of the month, you are feeling full of amazing energy, you’re sleeping better than ever, your jeans are a little loose around the waist and you are starting to see a little definition in your shoulders.  You stand naked in front of a full-length mirror for the first time in a loooong time and you smile.

Then you step on the scale…and the number hasn’t changed.  How would you feel at that moment?

What I’ve seen, in my experience is:  Disappointment. Discouragement. Failure.

WHY?  why, why, why?  You have accomplished so much.  You’ve likely lowered your cholesterol and blood pressure, given yourself years of life and affected so many people around you with your new positive outlook.  You probably dropped pounds of fat, just to be replaced with healthy, lean muscle.  Those are just a few things to start…I could go on and on and on.  I want to start to help people see themselves through a different set of eyes.

My hope for this blog is that I can take you with me for support on my continuing journey toward health and wellness…and balance.  I want to share my successes and my struggles.  Life is full of craziness, and it’s different for all of us.  We each have our own paths and purpose.  I’d like to be able to share a source of encouragement for finding a way to keep ourselves balanced, fitting it all in and finding joy in living.

I would love to have you join me….

 

This entry was posted in Welcome. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keeping a Balance…Without a Scale

  1. anita watson says:

    I’m in !!!

Leave a Reply

